There goes your muse!

I do not invest my time in unwanted drivel: Writer’s Block Party

When was the last time you experienced writer’s block? What do you think brought it about — and how did you dig your way out of it?

You know you’ve gotten that horrible illness that is called the Writer’s Block, when you start writing silly things that don’t belong in your story, or when the supply of words run out in your head, and you lose interest in the story you are working on.

When I get a writer’s block, it pretty much goes like this:

 

 

 

Well, you get what I mean. The blank sheet of paper mocks me, and reflects the state of my mind, which is, incidentally, a blank.

Sometimes, I lose interest in the story I am working on, when it seems like it is difficult to continue the adventure I’ve put my characters through. I’ll simply go off to work on another half- completed story. This makes me feel guilty for leaving the characters in my first story stuck in limbo. It’s like sticking them in a large quagmire and leaving them to sink.

I’ve tried a couple of ways to entice my muse to return, and I’ll tell you the best two that work for me.

The first is to go and read your favourite storybook. No kidding. No matter how many times you’ve read that book, just go back to it and read it again. I’ve done that many times before, and it works, for me, at least. My favourite book is The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini, and I just read the four books in the series over and over again. I think I’ve lost track of the number of times I’ve read them.

Anyway, I can always go back to my writing when I’m done with those books. Maybe you should try it too! 🙂

Another method is to reread whatever you’ve written in your story so far, and perhaps you will hop back on to your train of thought, as I have done in many instances.

So, I have said what I’ve wanted to say. May your muse return to you! 🙂

Speak now, or forever hold your silence...

