To know or not to know…

This post does not spring out idly from nowhere: Daily prompt: Advantage of Foresight

You’ve been granted the power to predict the future! The catch — each time you use your power, it costs you one day (as in, you’ll live one day less). How would you use this power, it at all?

I think I will use this power just once, when I need it most, like in a really desperate, uncertain situation.

I wouldn’t do it more than once not because of that one day it would cost me (it’s still painful, nonetheless), but because if I predicted my own future too many times, won’t life become too boring and lack surprises? (Well, the pleasant ones, anyway)

Or even worse, what if I predicted some really horrible fate that will befall me in a year’s time, say, I will die in a car crash, or a huge signboard warning people not to walk under signboards lest they should fall on them does really fall on my head and kill me? No doubt, that would be an ironic and splendid way to go, but still…

I would be spending the remainder of that one year not daring to walk on the street, or not sitting in cars, and just staying in home. I might just die of boredom then…

The point is, the future might not be written in stone (the cliche phrase in that kind of storybook… you know what I mean). Besides, if we predicted our futures so often, there will obviously be bad days that we will see in the scrying pool/ crystal ball/ whatever tool you use to see the future in, and that will result in that horrible, horrible feeling—foreboding.

And that just reminds me of Pandora’s box. The reason why humans could still live and hope for a better day after that wretched box was opened by Pandora was she had closed it in time, just before the last of the evil stuff came out, which was… wait for it… yep, foreboding.

Well, that’s just one version of the story. But you see, this predicting the future stuff is sticky business. I think I’d rather not know about bad things that might befall me, instead of knowing and dreading the day.

That’s just my take on it. I won’t say it’s two cents worth, because it might be one cent, or three. You never know these things. So, would you rather foretell all the stuff that will happen to you, or float in the blissfulness of ignorance? 🙂

One thought on “To know or not to know…

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Advantage of Foresight | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Speak now, or forever hold your silence...

